A Woman Came Up To Me Looking Desolate

March 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

Photo by Milo Riano

 

At Redhill MRT station, a woman came up to me looking desolate, mud on her ankles, pleading for some money.

For the life of me, I could not make sense of her incoherent words, but I was willing to pay for her cab fare to anywhere to get more help. I asked her how much she needed, and she replied “As much as you can help”.

Caution welled up inside me, and I gave her $30. But she asked if I could go to an ATM to get more, telling me now she had to go around asking for more.

I wished her luck before walking away. She seemed frustrated and irritated.

***
You have (and must) control your own actions and interpretations, but accept the fact that you will have
no control over how others judge and act, especially in response to you.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to A Woman Came Up To Me Looking Desolate

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Woman Came Up To Me Looking Desolate at Letters From The Porch.

meta

