What I’ve Decided Today

February 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Instead of talking about my goals and what I want to achieve, I’d like to talk about what I need to work on to better myself:

I need to study The Enchiridion, Discourses, The Iliad and The Odyssey. These will be my priorities for this and next month.

“But on my bedside table, no matter what carrier I was aboard, were my Epictetus books: Enchiridion, Discourses, Xenophon’s Memorabilia of Socrates, and
The Iliad and The Odyssey. (Epictetus expected his students to be
familiar with Homer’s plots.) I didn’t have time to be a bookworm ,
but I spent several hours each week buried in them.”
-Admiral James Stockdale, “Courage Under Fire”

I find it unacceptable for myself to be swayed back and forth by emotions and false impressions of events, and even lack-of-events. I am the source of all my pain. No-one and nothing else.

It is comforting to know, that I have a source to turn to, the calamine lotion to my wounds, in the face of difficulties and struggles within myself. That source is unchanging and will never desert me.

The source is philosophy (in its original, most purest sense: as a method of living life, not an academic field).

“Show me a man who though sick is happy, who
though in danger is happy, who though in prison is happy, and I’ll
show you a Stoic.”
-Epictetus

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I’ve Decided Today at Letters From The Porch.

meta

