My Icons

November 8, 2009 § 1 Comment

Presentation1

Shamelessly stealing the idea from Colin Marshall, I’ve  decided to select nine people whose thoughts and actions have in some way influenced my outlook on life. I’ve come to realize the importance of having heroes in one’s life: never underestimate how they can help you to shape your values and achievements.

***

“The best advice I got from my aunt, the great singer Rosemary Clooney, and from my dad, who was a game show host and news anchor, was: don’t wake up at seventy years old sighing over what you should have tried. Just do it, be willing to fail, and at least you gave it a shot. That’s echoed for me all through the last few years.”

-George Clooney

***

“Choose someone whose way of life as well as words, and whose face very mirroring the character that lies behind it, have won your approval. Be always pointing him out to yourself either as your guardian, or as your model. There is a need, in my view, for someone as a standard against which our characters can measure themselves. Without a ruler to do it against, you won’t make the crooked straight.”

-Lucius Annaeus Seneca

***

“Too many people are afraid to look deep down and look at where you made mistakes. That’s not always easy to do, to be honest with yourself. That’s something my father always instilled in me and even to this day, sometimes it’s difficult, but you have to take an honest look and have an honest evaluation of your performance.”

-Tiger Woods

***

“For me the goal is the same: try to improve my tennis and try to continuing have the good results. In the end, is only one number. No. 1 and No. 2 is only one number of difference. You know, I say it 100 times, no? I didn’t go to sleep thinking if I am No. 1 or No. 2, and I didn’t wake up thinking about if I am the No. 1 or No. 2. I think about I have to play well today or I have to practice well today. I have to improve. ”

-Rafael Nadal

***

“A lot of people are in business to try to make money. If that’s the primary driver, I think it’s pretty hard to do well in the long term. But if instead you’re doing something that you’re so passionate about doing that you’d be happy doing it for 10 years without making any money, I think that you’re much more likely to be successful, and the optimism will come naturally on its own.”

-Tony Hsieh

***

“It’s hard to find work you love; it must be, if so few do. So don’t underestimate this task. And don’t feel bad if you haven’t succeeded yet. In fact, if you admit to yourself that you’re discontented, you’re a step ahead of most people, who are still in denial. If you’re surrounded by colleagues who claim to enjoy work that you find contemptible, odds are they’re lying to themselves. Not necessarily, but probably.”

-Paul Graham

***

“I’ve always tried not to fall for the lies that say things like ‘you can do anything if you have the will’ or that ‘you’re the only one who can carve out your own life.’ According to the audience member’s beliefs, you could call it the will of God or social systems, or fate; but in the end, what I’m trying to say is the same. And that is, ‘Life doesn’t go your own way.”

-Park Chan Wook

***

“Never say ‘no’ to adventures. Always say ‘yes,’ otherwise you’ll lead a very dull life.”

– Ian Fleming

***

How do I guess at the future? Based on the omens of the present. The secret is here in the present. If you pay attention to the present, you can improve upon it. And, if you improve on the present, what comes later will also be better. Forget about the future, and live each day according to the teachings, confident that God loves his children. Each day, in itself, brings with it an eternity.”

-Paulo Coelho – “The Alchemist

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to My Icons

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Icons at Letters From The Porch.

meta

