Praying For Blue Skies In Red China

October 8, 2009 § Leave a comment

picture: Stuck In Customs

Back when I was in Vietnam, at the Peace House one night, discussing Halong Bay plans with Sophie, Helle, Katrina, and Rasmus, I received a call from Singapore. It was dad. He asked if I would like to accompany him on a business trip to Shanghai and Guangzhou for a week in early October. I was hesitant at first. Previous family trips to China wasn’t exactly memorable. In fact, my memory’s lost on most of the places we’ve been to as a family.

China isn’t foreign place to me. Numerous family vacations and a school exchange trip to Beijing. I can’t exactly put a finger down on why I didn’t find them enjoyable, but back then I guess I didn’t look at travel the way I do now: much more than a vacation. It was a case of bringing the ugly side of yourself along with you on vacation, and hating yourself along the trip. I do have hazy memories of places such as Guilin, Hangzhou, Suzhou, and the famous big cities of Beijing, Shanghai, and Shenzen. I would love to have the opportunity to explore these places again on a solo trip, or in a (very) small group.

Well, what I can I learn of China, specifically of Shanghai and Guangzhou in another week? The last time I was in Shanghai was at least five years ago, and at the famous speed at which China is modernizing, I won’t be surprised to find the big cities changed dramatically. Looking forward for opportunities to talk to people and see a different side of China I hadn’t known of previously.


Weather’s been pretty bad in many parts of Southeast Asia, I hope all will be fine in China. Updates on China will be found on my travel blog.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Praying For Blue Skies In Red China at Letters From The Porch.

meta

