The Mini Gap Year Trip

August 12, 2009 § 3 Comments

Photo courtesy of Gee!Bee

Photo courtesy of Gee!Bee

This is it. Bags packed and ready to go. I shall give a recount of my plans that led up to my one month “voluntourism” trip in Vietnam.

From the 13th of August to the 10th of September, I will be in Vietnam, doing a mix of volunteer work and backpack traveling.

Graduating from a three-year crash-college course sometimes left me feeling that something was missing amongst doing all-nighters.

Ever since junior college days, I would spend classroom time and lectures dreaming of solo travel and moving around airports. (Might have been a by-product of spending too much time studying at airports!)

I decided the most cost-friendly and meaningful way of gap travel would be to volunteer, and found International Volunteers HQ. The costs of the programs were pretty decent. Plus they’re on Facebook.

My two broad objectives for this trip:

  • Simply have fun whenever possible!
  • Appreciation of overseas cultures, learning how others live their lives in their unique ways

Here are some of the most important web resources that I used to plan for my travels:

Getting the best air ticket deals: Whichbudget

A customizable idea generator for what to pack for the trip: Universal Packing List

Reading up Vietnam Travel Blogs: Ottsworld

Learning to eliminate and pack light: Onebag , Tim Ferriss

Travel advice from veterans: “28 Things I Wish I Knew”

Additionally, I think did my best to understand more about the country. Bought the latest version of Lonely Planet Vietnam, and the Berlitz Vietnamese phrasebook. Along with youtube videos on the Vietnamese language, I started doing homework, understanding Vietnamese history, culture and its language intricacies. We will see if it all pays off in the next few weeks.

I will be maintaing a travel blog, “On The Road Again“, for the next four weeks.

Wish me luck!

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to The Mini Gap Year Trip

  • Owen says:

    Have a good time! And will be looking forward for updates from your blog. 🙂

  • Ms Chia says:

    Great to hear that you are travelling and volunteering at the same time. I love to travel too. I’ve been to Hanoi, but I don’t really like it. I like big Cities and bustling activities! But, unfortunately, 2009 proved to be a year that I am stuck in singapore. Will be reading your updates and travellogue.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Mini Gap Year Trip at Letters From The Porch.

meta

